South Africa’s domestic 2019-20 season was cancelled just before the finals due to growing concerns on the spread of COVID-19 across the world. Subsequently, Cricket South Africa (CSA) decided on concluding the season with the Lions and Dolphins named as winners respectively.

The Lions won the first-class tournament while the Dolphins bagged the one-day competition domestically. The two franchise teams were named champions because each finished at the top of the points’ tables of their respective competition.

Acting Director of Cricket Graeme Smith was the one who advised for the titles to be awarded based on log standings across the men’s franchise and senior provincial tournaments as well as the women’s leagues after the season cancellation. Later on, the CSA’s board and member’s council which is made of the 13 provincial presidents endorsed Smith’s suggestion.

‘This is undoubtedly the fairest way to decide the various winners’, Smith commented on their action in an interview on March 24.

‘In the provincial competitions where some teams have played more games than others, we have taken the average number of points per game to decide on final log positions’, he also added. ‘In the One-Day Cup it was also important that we put extra weight on the performances of the teams that earned home ground advantage for the knock-out stage’.

Check out the latest cricket odds at Moneyball

With all of the teams completing eight games out of the 10 rounds of red-ball cricket, the 4-Day Domestic Series trophy remains with the Lions after capping the season off at top of the table. They hold a margin of 8.46 points ahead of runners-up, the Titans who ended at second place after four wins, three losses and one draw.

On the other hand, the Dolphins takes their second One-Day Cup title with their gritty efforts in the 50-over arena after three years. 

‘Congratulations to all the winners and indeed to all our franchises and provinces for making our domestic cricket once again highly competitive and providing an important pipeline of talent to our Proteas men’s team and Proteas women’s team’, CSA Acting Chief Executive Dr Jacques Faul greeted all of the franchise and provincial winners.

Furthermore, tournament sponsor Momentum approved of the decision for the prize money to be split among the semi-finalists. This means that the Dolphins, Lions, Warriors and Knights will receive a 40-30-15-15 percentage share respectively.

The following list enumerates the corresponding winners of the all the franchise and provincial tournaments:

  • 4-Day Series: Lions
  • One-Day Cup: Dolphins 
  • CSA Provincial Three-Day Cup: Easterns and KwaZulu Natal (joint winners) 
  • CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge: Free State and Northern Cape (joint winners) 
  • Women’s T20 League: Western Province

For more updates on cricket, go to Moneyball News