Did you know that the NBA was founded in 1946? In fact, there are only 12 teams who survived in the NBA’s first decade. 

However, here are the top five oldest teams who are still active up to this day: 

Sacramento Kings 

Year founded: 1923

First Season: 1948 

The Kings is a member of Western Conference Pacific Division and is the only team in the major professional North American sports leagues in Sacramento. In fact, the 2001-02 season is one of their best years by winning a solid 61-21. 

Originating from Rochester, New York, the team has been hosting several teams over the course of 20 years and was initially known as the Rochester Seagrams. In 1945, they changed their name to Rochester Royals and won during the 1945-56 season. 

Two years later, they joined the NBA with three other teams and was known as one of the most successful teams. What’s amazing is that the Kings are the oldest operating team in the NBA.

Detroit Pistons 

Year founded: 1941

First season: 1948 

The Pistons is a member of the league’s Eastern Conference Central Division. The squad won two National Basketball League (NBL) championships in 1944 and 1945. They also won three NBA championships in 1989, 1990, and 2004. However, the Pistons moved from Fort Wayne to Detroit a decade later. As a matter of fact, the Pistons are one of the few remaining teams since the NBA was founded. 

Check out the latest NBA odds at Moneyball 

Boston Celtics

Year founded: 1946 

First season: 1946

The Celtics is a member of the league’s Eastern Conference Atlantic Division. Actually, the Celtics are one of the original eight teams and regarded as one of the most successful basketball team in the NBA history. 

The Celtics won a total of 17 championships, which is the most wins in the league. They are also one of the two charter Basketball Association of America (BAA) franchises who still plays in their original city. 

With its notable rivalry with Los Angeles Lakers since the 1960s, Celtics defeated the Lakers in nine out of 12 games. 

Because of their remarkable records and performance inside the court, Celtics players such as Bob Cousy, Bill Russell, Dave Cowens, and Larry Bird won a total of 10 NBA Most Valuable Player Award. 

New York Knicks

Year founded: 1946 

First season: 1946 

Most commonly known as the Knicks, the franchise is based in New York City borough of Manhattan. They are also a member of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. The Knicks are also one of the two original NBA teams still located in its original city. 

During their early years in the NBA, they are also known as one of the constant playoff contenders under their first head coach Joe Lapchick. However, the performance of the team dropped when Lapchick resigned in 1956. 

Golden State Warriors

Year founded: 1946

First season: 1946 

The Warriors is a member of the league’s Western Conference Pacific Division and was founded in Philadelphia but moved to San Francisco Bay Area in 1962. What’s amazing is that this franchise produced a lot of star players. Some of these star players are Jamaal Wilkes and Rick Barry who led the team to victory in 1975. 

In the 1980s, the team struggled to win another championship and became playoff regulars. However, the team made their great comeback and won in 2015 with the help of Stephen Curry, Klay Thompson, and Draymond Green. The Warriors also won in 2017 and 2018 with the help of Kevin Durant who is now a player of Brooklyn Nets.

Some of the oldest NBA teams are Philadelphia 76ers, Atlanta Hawks, Los Angeles Lakers, Washington Wizards, Chicago Bulls, Houston Rockets, and Oklahoma City Thunder. You might not be a fan of all these teams but it is undeniable that they truly kept the basketball spirit going for the longest time. 

Take a look at the latest NBA news at Moneyball