You might think that cricket is only popular in India and England. When in fact, cricket is widely popular in other countries like Zimbabwe, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Australia. Based on research, cricket is one of the most attended sports leagues around the world. 

Here are some of the most-awaited cricket leagues around the world:

Indian Premier League (IPL) 

The IPL is a professional T20 league in India which is usually held every March, April, and May every year. There is a total of eight teams playing in this league to represent the eight different cities in India. 

In 2008, the IPL was established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The IPL acquired an exclusive window in ICC Future Tours Programme in 2017. 

Believe it or not, the IPL is the 6th most-attended sports league worldwide. It was also the first league to have a live broadcast on YouTube. The current titleholder of the IPL is the Mumbai Indians. 

Here are the teams in the IPL:

  • Chennai Super Kings 
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Rajasthan Royals 

Pakistan Super League (PSL) 

The PSL was founded in 2015 with its first five teams. There are now six teams competing in this league. It is actually a league controlled by investors instead of an association of independently owned teams. This PSL is usually played from February to March in a double round-robin format. The top four teams with the best record are those who will compete for the PSL Cup Final. 

Here are the six teams of the PSL:

  • Islamabad United
  • Karachi Kings
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Multan Sultans
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Quetta Gladiators

Big Bash League (BBL) 

The BBL is an Australian professional T20 league founded in 2011 with six participating teams. It is also one of the top ten domestic sports leagues, basing from the annual average attendance. 

BBL is usually played from December, January, and February. The current titleholder of this league is the Sydney Sixers. The fascinating thing about the BBL is that they are sponsored by KFC ever since it was founded.

Here are participating teams of BBL:

  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder

Take a look at the latest cricket odds at Moneyball 

ICC World Cricket League 

This league is a series of ODIs for national teams who do not have Test status. The great thing about this league is that all of the associate members of the ICC are allowed.

The ICC World Cricket League aims to provide a qualification system for the World Cup and gives an opportunity for teams to compete with other opponents at the same level. 

Here are some of the teams competing in this league:

  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • Namibia
  • Kenya
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates 

T20 Blast

Also known as the Twenty20 Cup, this league is usually a competition for Welsh and English first-class counties and was founded by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) in 2003. As of now, the T20 Blast is regarded as one of the top-level T20 competition in Wales and England. 

As a matter of fact, this league is also known as the Friend Provident T20 and Friends Life T20. The current champion of this league is the Essex Eagles. 

As of now, there are a total of 18 teams in this league divided into Northern and Southern divisions, these are the:

Northern Division

  • Derbyshire Falcons
  • Durham
  • Lancashire Lightning
  • Leicestershire Foxes
  • Northamptonshire Steelbacks
  • Notts Outlaws (Nottinghamshire)
  • Birmingham Bears (Warwickshire)
  • Worcestershire Rapids
  • Yorkshire Vikings

Southern Division 

  • Essex Eagles
  • Glamorgan
  • Gloucestershire
  • Hampshire
  • Kent Spitfires
  • Middlesex
  • Somerset
  • Surrey
  • Sussex Sharks

Mentioned are just some of the popular cricket leagues around the world. In fact, there are hundreds of cricket leagues worldwide. They might not be hugely popular but they are played by amateur and professional cricketers. 

Be updated on the latest cricket news at Moneyball