Did you know that the Gold Coast Titans is the youngest team in the NRL? The Titans were established in 2007 and played their home games at Cbus Super Stadium in Robina, Queensland since 2008. 

Despite being the youngest of all the teams, the Titans are regarded as the second top-level rugby club based in Gold Coast. 

The Titans played their first official match in round 1 of the NRL in 2007 against St George Illawarra Dragons but failed to win. What’s fascinating is that their first game was moved from their home ground to Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane due to the huge demand of fans wanting to watch the game. 

After their loss against the Dragons, they were able to get back on their feet and won their first official victory with a solid 18-16 against Cronulla Sharks. 

Here are some of the famous players produced by the Titans:

Luke Bailey (2007-20014)

Bailey was originally drafted by St George Illawarra Dragons in 1999. The following year, he made his debut and appeared in 119 games before joining the Gold Coast Titans in 2007. As a matter of fact, Bailey was the first person to score a try at Cbus Super Stadium. 

He is also the co-winner of the Paul Broughton Medal and the Best and Fairest Award in 2007. In 2014, Bailey won the Preston Award. 

Aside from playing with the Titans, he also represented the New South Wales 15 times and Australia in four Tests. Bailey was actually regarded as an inspiration of the aspiring football players. 

Greg Bird (2010-2016) 

Bird joined the club in 2010 and played a total of 129 games scoring 15 tries and 19 goals. He was also named as the co-captain of the squad and won the Best and Fairest Award in 2013. Playing as the forward of the team, he was regarded as a reliable man of the squad. Bird also represented the New South Wales 18 times and Australia in 17 Tests. 

Take a look at the latest NRL odds at Moneyball 

Nate Myles (2012-2015) 

Myles only played four seasons with the Titans, but within the short period of time, he played a total of 76 games and scored three tries. In 2012, he was named as the Second Rower of the Year and also received a Paul Broughton Medal for his outstanding performance. 

Anthony Laffranchi (2007-2011) 

Laffranchi is an original member of Titans who debuted with the club in 2007. He was also a co-winner of Paul Broughton Medal and the Best and Fairest Award alongside Luke Bailey during 2007 season’s end. He played in 102 games and scored a total of 32 tries. 

In 2008, he was named in the 24-man Australian squad and made his debut against New Zealand. Laffranchi also represented New South Wales four times and played in five Tests for Australia. 

However, last year’s season is not their year. The Titans ended up having a wooden spoon placing at the 16th spot. With this, they are determined to have a stronger comeback next season.

Check out the latest NRL news at Moneyball