The NRL Grand Final is one of the major sporting events in Australia. As a matter of fact, it is the largest attended club championship event in the world. 

The Grand Final is usually played on a Sunday when all the pubs are closed. The game itself features entertainment breaks, musical acts, and singing of the national anthem by popular Australian celebrities.

Curious about the winners of the NRL Grand Final? Here are some of the outstanding teams who won multiple times:

South Sydney Rabbitohs (21 titles) 

Often called as the Souths or Bunnies, they are one of the nine existing teams from the state capital. The club was formed in 1908 making them one of Australia’s oldest rugby teams. 

With a total of 21 Grand Final titles, one of their most memorable victories was during the NRL Grand Final in 2014. The Bunnies won the match with a decisive 30 points against the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium. 

Rabbitohs forward Sam Burgess was awarded a Clive Churchill Medal but sustained a cheekbone injury during the game’s opening tackle. 

St. George Illawarra Dragons (15 titles) 

Originally established as the St George Dragons, they actively participated in the top-level New South Wales competition and Australian Rugby League competitions from 1921 to 1997 ARL season. In 1999, they made a partnership with Illawarra Steelers and decided to form the St. George Illawarra Dragons. In the same year, the Dragons won their first NRL Grand Final title despite Sharks dominating the field during that time. 

The squad won their first NRL Grand Final with the help of Anthony Mundine who scored three tries in a man of the match performance. 

Take a look at the latest NRL odds at Moneyball 

Sydney Roosters (15 titles) 

The Roosters is also one of the oldest and most successful clubs of the NRL. As a matter of fact, they also won 15 New South Wales Rugby League (NSWRL) titles.

They are also noted for having the most number of wins in NSWRL which is the second-largest margin of victory. 

Their most memorable win is during the NRL Grand Final in 2019 wherein they defeated the Canberra Riders with a solid 14-8 at ANZ Stadium. However, the Roosters are mocked by rival fans for a salary cap sombrero. 

A salary cap sombrero comes from the fact that some clubs seem to have a bigger “cap” than others. This being said, the Roosters are accused of having a bigger salary cap. However, it was proved that it was all a myth. 

With the help of James Tedesco and Brad Fittler, the Canberra Riders are defeated by the Roosters. 

Balmain Tigers (11 wins) 

Also known as the Sydney Tigers from 1995 to 1996, the Tigers were a founding member of the New South Wales Rugby League. 

During their golden era, the Tigers won the Premiership against the Souths with a solid 33-4 win in 1939. It was also one of the unforgettable moments of the Tigers because it is when Poland invaded Germany which led England and Australia to war. 

Check out the latest NRL news at Moneyball